How Many?

May 15, 2009 at 10:00 pm 5 comments

I had my Rheumy visit today. She always seems so disappointed when she sees me. In all honesty my RA is not that bad, not compared to other people I know, so I always get the feeling from her that she’s upset that she can’t get me into a permanent remission. I always wonder if it makes her feel like she’s failing her patients a little bit when she can’t “fix” us. One of the difficult parts about being a doctor I guess.

My RA update:

My hands are sore with a few slightly swollen joints, but not too bad.

My feet are the worst they’ve ever been.

My immune system has now decided to add my ankles to its list of joints it has decided to over protect. Go Immune System! šŸ˜‰

I feel like my body has given me a big welcome-to-30-bitch gift.

My Rheumy is upping my methotrexate to 6 pills 1x week for the next two weeks and then to 8 pills after that. My folic acid will now be 2 mg/day instead of 1 mg. That’s what I was hoping she would do, so I’m happy with that. I really didn’t feel I was ready for a biologic yet.

So what does that bring my daily pill count to? Well, I’ve also started taking two different multi-vitamins, so Sunday through Friday I will be taking 10 pills/day. Saturdays will be 16 pills for the next two weeks and then 18 every week after that. I literally had to figure this out on paper because there were so many.

It’s hard for me to believe I now have to take this many. Just a few short years ago, I wasn’t taking anything. Then I found out I had hypothyroidism. That was one pill a day for the rest of my life. No biggie. I could handle that. But 18!?! Seriously?? I’m 30, not 90.

I’m sure my other invisible illness buddies are feelin’ me on this one, right?

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I’m Home A New Lump

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sara  |  May 17, 2009 at 9:37 am

    OK, this post was not funny, clearly, but I totally laughed at the welcome to 30 bitch gift! SO TRUE! Compared to you, i take relatively few pills-only 7 a day (but I love how 7 is ‘few’). I’m curious about the folic acid? I think my multi-vitamin has folic in it, but I hadn’t heard about folic being used specifically against RA.

    Sorry that you are still wobbling in RA management land instead of remission land….we’ll get there one day.

  • 2. S.  |  May 17, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    The folic acid helps with the side effects from taking methotrexate. It doesn’t specifically fight the RA.

    Haha. Seven pills as only a few. RA really adjusts your thinking on life doesn’t it? šŸ™‚

    I’m glad you laughed. I totally meant it to be funny. I always try to throw something in when I think the post sounds too serious. I hate being all doomy-gloomy.

  • 3. sara  |  May 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    yeah, a good dose of humor is really helpful-I’m the same way. Good to know about the folic acid. I guess since i’m not on meth, I didn’t know that. Yes, RA has skewed things for us for sure!

  • 4. misswaxie  |  May 20, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I know how it feels to want to please a doctor – and how sad and frustrating it is when they want you to be doing better, even they haven’t fixed you yet. Sometimes, I feel like my doctors and homecare nurses are more upset for me than I am – then again, i suppose they’ve had less time to get used to the idea of my illness…

    In the end, we’re the ones who have to live with it, so we’re the ones who have to be okay / not okay with it, I guess.

    I think priority number 1 will have to be finding away to build something cool out of all the pill bottles you’ll soon have lying around. You know, after the MTX hopefully makes you feel better!!

    – Miss Waxie

  • 5. S.  |  May 22, 2009 at 12:52 am

    So well said Miss Waxie. Thank you.

    That made me laugh about the pill bottles. I get my meds from Target and they have the special color-coded rings on them. They are rubbery and (even better) removable. The crafty side of me keeps wondering what I’m going to do with all these purple rubber/plastic rings. LOL

    And I am feeling better. I’m surprised at how fast it worked. Normally any change in meds seems to take forever.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

Iā€™m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. Iā€™m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

