No F*ckin’ Way!

April 21, 2009 at 1:02 am 2 comments

Excuse the language, but what I’m about to tell you was seriously that exciting.

Saturday my mom and I went to the Honolulu Zoo for a two-hour twilight tour (this isn’t the exciting part). It was a great tour. There was a beautiful elephant that waved at you, three adorable baby tigers (7 months old-ahhhhh-you know you want to say it), and a bunch of rowdy children. It’s a shame those kids weren’t behind bars. 😉 Right before we head to the zoo, my mom says we have to go pick up a friend of hers from the airport afterward. No big deal. My mom is one of those people who never stops doing things for other people.

We get to the airport, and I’m completely exasperated because this friend of hers hardly gave her any flight information. All she knew was the arrival time and airline. I get so mad when people take advantage of my mom’s niceness. We finally find the baggage claim for the flight and then wait and wait. The flight was a bit late, and for once, we actually showed up somewhere early. That’s a rarity with my mom. Finally, people start walking in to claim their luggage. My mom gets a call from her friend saying she landed. After my mom hangs up the phone, I ask her if she asked her friend what she was wearing so I could help watch for her since it was someone I hadn’t met before. Nope. Oh well. We stand there for several more minutes as things get crazier around us. My mom waves at someone way down the hallway. I plaster on my most friendly smile to meet this stranger that is interrupting my vacation (just kidding…kind of :D).

I see this short woman in jeans and a green shirt dragging a carry-on suitcase behind her. I turn to my mom to say, “She kind of looks like……….”. Wait. No Way!!! That IS my SISTER!!! I haven’t seen her in about four years! We ran to each other (just like in the movies) and hugged and cried. My moms camera decided to stop working. Go figure. LOL.

It was a surprise for my birthday. I was completely shocked. I have no idea how my whole family kept it from me. How incredible is my family??? Lucky, lucky me.

She’s here until Friday, so we’ve been super busy doing touristy stuff since this is my sisters first trip here. We did the Macadamia Nut Farm and tour yesterday. My sister got hit on by our Samoan tour guide. He asked for her number and my sis gave it to him. She’s hoping for a little local action before she leaves. LOL. She broke up with her boyfriend about a week before she got here. I don’t expect she’ll be single for long if she’s already getting dates after being here for only one day.

Today, we went to Pearl Harbor and the Dole Pineapple Plantation. Always fun and educational things to do while you’re here. The car wouldn’t start when we went to leave the pineapple plantation, and we didn’t have any jumper cables. This is a tourist spot, so no one else had them either because everyone is driving rental cars. To make a long story short, it took us 45 minutes to find someone with jumper cables.

Fun, fun, fun. I certainly can’t complain. 🙂

The Invisible,

S.

p.s. I’ve been here a week, and I still haven’t stepped one foot on the beach. Incredible, I know. Must be a world record. It’s either been raining, too cold, or traffic has stopped us.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

First post from Hawaii! I’m all cool and non-touristy.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. misswaxie  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    hi!

    I found your blog while searching out other young people who write about their chronic illness.

    How great that you made it our to Hawaii!! Isn’t it wonderful when we get to do great things inspite of our damn illnesses? I’m very happy to read about your lovely trip!

    like you, I have a multitude of invisable autoimmune diseases (ra, lupus, celiac, cidp, hashimoto’s, blah blah blah, hehe) and I’ve recently started turning my often comic adventures in the medical system into a comic called, A Comic Life, Indeed. I hope to show other young adults with chronic illness that they’re not alone and I’d love for you to check it out:
    http://acomiclifeindeed.wordpress.com

    Hope you continue to have a great trip!!

    – Miss Waxie

  • 2. S.  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Sorry it took me so long to reply. 🙂

    I’m really happy that I got to make the trip. It’s been rejuvenating. I can’t believe I’ve already been here for 2 1/2 weeks. Yikes!

    I haven’t gotten to read all of your blog yet, but it looks really cool. I can’t wait until I have more time to read all of it. I added your site to my blogroll.

    Have a super feel good day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

