The AHDI RMT Prep Course Starts…Now

March 31, 2009 at 4:33 pm 5 comments

I just logged into the AHDI RMT Prep Course, so I finally get to see what I’ve gotten myself into. I know it wasn’t supposed to start until 4/1, but it’s 4/1 somewhere, right? I got an email reminding me about it starting, so I thought I would try logging in, and it worked.

So far it looks okay. It has a bit more stuff than I thought it was going to have, so I’m happy about that.

There are 12 different sections of body systems/specialties. Each one of these has a link to the pages you should study in your AAMT Book of Style, a list of books and Internet websites that you can use to further study the body system/specialty, and a short list of websites where you can find images that will help you in your study of the body system/specialty.

After that, is a link to an objective test you can take with mostly multiple choice questions. There will also be a few True/False, Matching, and Multiple Response questions thrown in for good measure.  🙂 Supposedly, you can take this test over and over again and never get the exact same test twice. Cool.

Next, are the voice clips for practice transcribing. Just sentences like you would have while taking the RMT exam. Not full transcription reports.

Finally, there is a small section of miscellaneous objective tests and a participant forum for chatting with other people taking the prep course. There is also a list of participants. There are 15 of us total. So far, three of us have logged in. I can see everyone’s email address and where they’re from, which I think is weird, but I did find where you can update your profile so no one can see your email address. Your profile can have your picture and you can also blog about your prep course experience. I already have my blog, so I won’t be using theirs. 🙂 You can also choose to show your phone number and address, give access to your webpage, AIM, Yahoo, or MSN ID. You can also get messages from other prep course participants. Maybe I’ll make some other MT friends while doing this.

Essentially, you go through the course at your own speed. You have access to it for 30 days, but you could finish it in a week (or less) if you really wanted to.

I’m super nervous about taking the exam, so I’m going to study my a$$ off while I have the chance.

If you have any questions, feel free to leave me a comment. I’ll answer anything I can that doesn’t give away the $75 secrets that I paid for. In other words, I won’t be giving anyone the list of websites they offer, etc.  🙂 It wouldn’t be fair to me or the school running the prep course.

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: medical transcription. Tags: , , , , , , .

I’m gonna say it… I’m going to Hawaii

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yana  |  March 31, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Oh, my God! These people really know how to make money!

  • 2. S.  |  March 31, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Why do you say that?

  • 3. Yana  |  April 1, 2009 at 6:23 am

    I’m just joking :))

  • 4. S.  |  April 1, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Alrighty. 🙂 But even if you weren’t, that would have been cool too.

  • 5. stevejohnson  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:07 am

    Thanks for the suggestion, i have to write this exam so that i can become good medical transcriptionist.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

