My RA Update

March 2, 2009 at 2:10 pm Leave a comment

I realized yesterday that I hadn’t really talked about my rheumatoid arthritis in awhile, so I’ve decided that this will be RA week. I’m going to post something each day this week that has to do with RA. Today will be an update on how my RA has been.

Since I started the methotrexate (mtx) about six weeks ago, I had really started to feel that my NSAID (piroxicam) wasn’t working anymore. All of the side benefits I had gotten from taking it seemed to go away. Besides my RA, the NSAID had helped my chronic tendonitis and my IBS. Everything started getting bad again when I began taking the mtx. It sucked. 🙂

Anyway, last week I could feel the inflammation in my joints flaring up, and it was in joints I wasn’t used to having problems with like my wrists and ankles. To me that feeling feels like a wedge is being pushed into the joint, slowly spreading it apart. That’s the best that I can describe it. When I feel that, I know my inflammation is getting worse and I need to do something about it.

When that feeling started last week, I thought uh-oh. Inflammation = bad. Inflammation =  joint damage. So I broke out the big guns. The bottle of prednisone my rheumatologist had given me for emergencies. I hate taking prednisone because of the side effects, but I knew I needed to take care of the inflammation quickly. If you have been reading my blog, then you know the last time I took prednisone it was like a miracle drug. I went from really bad to normal overnight. I was hoping for this again.

Alas, my disease has progressed, so it didn’t quite happen that way. I decided to take 1/2 pill (5 mg) for six days. This was a similar dose to what I had taken before. After a couple of days, I finally started to notice improvement, and every day since then has been a little better.

Tomorrow is my last dose. It will be interesting to see how long the benefits of the drug lasts this time. Last time it lasted for over two weeks.

I am definitely doing better. I noticed that yesterday was the first Sunday since starting the mtx that I didn’t lay on the couch reading or watching TV all day. I only did it half the day. 😉  I actually had a bit of energy. That was exciting! Every good day is. 🙂 

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Dreaded Nodules The Fourth Appointment aka The “Probably” Appointment

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

