I got my diploma!

February 22, 2009 at 11:38 am 7 comments

Yes, it is official. I am a graduate of At-Home Professions Professional Medical Transcription Course. I shall frame it and hang it and look at it every day to remind myself of my accomplishment and to research things fully before I jump into them. How I wish I had chosen one of the top three schools. I’m terrified that I’m not prepared and won’t get a job.

They also sent me a letter saying my GPA was 95%. I wish it was higher.

I think I will e-mail L that I met at the New Year’s party and let her know that I officially graduated. Maybe that will lead somewhere. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out this post and this one.

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: medical transcription. Tags: , , , , , , .

Disney Dream A Tattoo?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yana  |  February 22, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    That’s great! Congratulations once more :))

    I talk to Graduate counselor recently and that conversation really helped me in realizing what are my chances in getting a job. My biggest challenge in studying MT is English – it is not my native language. My last quiz was graded B, which made me really upset, there were at least 10 mistakes. So that lady told me that after graduation I should use the Career kit to write my resume not saying anything that is unnecessary and contact local doctors. She said most graduates work for local offices, and looking for job on the web is not an option for a first time. I got several phone numbers of successfully working grads who agreed to answer the questions of students. May be you can find it useful to talk to some of them?

  • 2. S.  |  February 24, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Thanks Y!

  • 3. itranscribeforu  |  February 27, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Found your blog today and read through the entire thing. I’m an MT at a hospital, although without MT school attendance. I truly admire the way you handle your health situation and I wish you the absolute best in finding a perfect MT job! I’m going to put your link on my MT blog…
    Hugz ~ Erika

  • 4. S.  |  February 28, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Thank you! What’s your blog address? I’d love to read your blog.

  • 5. Tatum  |  March 15, 2009 at 10:45 am

    Hi~
    I just finished the first course in the At Home Professions Medical Transcription program…. I really enjoyed the first course & can’t wait for the second to arrive…. I’d love to hear your input as a graduate of the program!

  • 6. S.  |  March 16, 2009 at 10:58 am

    They have great customer service. Everyone is always super nice when you call.

    But…I really don’t feel prepared and there is definitely a negative view of At-Home Professions when you apply for jobs. I wish I had gone to one of the AHDI-approved schools. I’m going to get my RMT certification, so hopefully that will help me get a job.

    If I knew then what I know now, I would have quit At-Home Professions and gone with a different school.

    Hope that helps. 🙂

    S.

  • 7. Clatie Houston  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Congratulations!!!
    I’m working on my first course with AT-Home Professions and after reading through a few different forums and also your remark, I’m beginning to wonder if maybe I should change to a different school. I’m on the 1st lesson chapter 6 and I’ve really enjoy it up to this point. However, I ‘m spending what time I could be studing researching and trying to decide what’s the best thing for me to do, stay with this program or change. I don’t want to spend the money or put my time into this and not feel qualified.
    I would appreciate your opinion on this matter. Email me at clatie@bellsouth.net

    Thanks,
    Clatie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

