RA took away…

February 18, 2009 at 12:34 pm 2 comments

RA took away jogging from me. No, that’s not quite true. I was still physically able to jog; my Rheumatologist took it away from me. No way Jose she told me when I asked her if I was still allowed to run. I really thought she was going to say it was okay or I never would have asked her. Yoga was recommended. Bleh, I’ve been doing yoga on and off since I was 15. It never holds my interest.

Running was the first exercise I actually liked and looked forward to doing. To me, runners were cool. When I see them out running in the rain, snow, or at night, I think about how hardcore they are. I wanted to be hardcore. 🙂 So I took up running (slogging) about four months before my Rheumatologist told me I had to stop. I wasn’t great at it, but I loved it. I loved how the muscles in my legs felt. I felt sexier. I looked forward to each jog even though I would feel like I was dying by the time I was done.

One time I ran in the rain (technically it was sprinkling) and I felt like a bad ass. I was hardcore. Oh yeah!

I’m still tempted to buy myself a high-end treadmill and run on that. There would be less damage to my joints. Then I think about wheelchairs and walkers, and yoga doesn’t look so bad.

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

No chemistry? My AAMT Book of Style came today!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Millicent  |  February 24, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Maybe you could try running in a pool. It wouldn’t be the same, but it would keep your legs toned & be good exercise. I’m the mom of Single Gal’s Guide…, so I noticed your blog on hers. You girls ROCK!

  • 2. S.  |  February 24, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Thanks! Your daughter was the inspiration to start my blog and to always find the humor in being chronically ill. No whiney blogs for us. 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

