RMT?

February 16, 2009 at 11:17 am 7 comments

I received a comment from Y. regarding the RMT certification.

Hi!
Congratulations!
I am finding interesting what you say about MT studying. I am having the same course at At-Home Professions now. recently I realized that they don’t have AAMT accreditation (as i see that can be a problem when looking for a job). What do you think about taking RMT exam?
Y.

Well, I’m considering it, but I’m definitely going to wait awhile. I’d like to see if I can get a job first (I’m hoping to start applying to places this week) and get some experience before going through the hassle of getting certified. If I can’t get a job, then I will seriously consider getting my RMT certification. It’s either that or going back to school with one of the top 3 MT schools. The certification would be cheaper as long as I pass. I really want to be an MT so I’ll do what it takes. I just wish I had done more research before I chose a school.

I signed up with AHDI. I’m hoping that being a member will help me get a job. I also just purchased the AAMT Book of Style, 3rd edition yesterday. Because I’m a member of AHDI, I got it for $50. I’m going to really study that once I get it. It should improve my skills.

I think deciding to take the RMT exam will be different for everyone. If I can get a job, I don’t think it’s necessary since from what I’ve read, you don’t get any kind of pay raise for it. After two years, I do plan on becoming a CMT though. That will be worth the time and effort financially.

Good luck with your studies Y.  🙂

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: medical transcription. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Happy Un-Valentine’s Day No chemistry?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yana  |  February 16, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Thank you so much for your detailed response!
    About AAMT Book of style – I see that in Course 5 Supplements, did you receive it? (I am on Course 3 now)
    Good luck with your job hunting!

  • 2. S.  |  February 16, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    No, there’s a little catch to getting it. Your tuition has to be paid in full. Same thing with the $10 homework coupons they give you. I’m on the payment plan so that means I’ll be paid in full in about three years or so. Since they automatically add on the $50 ($5/month) for the payment plan when you order each course, there is no reason for me to pay it off right now by putting in on a credit card just to get the book and $100. Then I’d end up paying double interest on my tuition and possibly a higher monthly payment. So I decided to just pay for my book now and in three years get a new updated one (along with my $100) once I pay off my tuition. They said everything would still be valid at that time. We’ll see.

    If you’re not on the payment plan, you won’t have to worry about any of this.

    S.

  • 3. Yana  |  February 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I see. What about Career Starter Kit?
    I am on the same payment plan as you.

  • 4. S.  |  February 17, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    You’ll get that. It’s just a small booklet. It is pretty informative; although, most of the information is for being an independent contractor. I’m hoping to work for an online company as an employee so I can get medical insurance through them. As you can imagine, with my health problems, I can’t get health insurance on my own.

    I did completely change the look of my resume due to their suggestions in the booklet. I hope it works. 🙂

  • 5. JulieW8  |  February 22, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I would highly recommend that you get an RMT if you are an At-Home Professions graduate. They don’t have a good reputation and you will have a difficult time finding a job. The RMT will at least give you a leg up.

  • 6. Yana  |  February 22, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    JulieW8, you wrote, ATP don’t have a good reputation. Could you, please, tell us some more about that? Graduates are not prepared well enough for work or it is all about AHDI approval?

    Thank you,
    Y.

  • 7. JulieW8  |  February 23, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Graduates are not prepared well enough for work, mostly. The curriculum is completely inadequate.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

