Spoons

February 12, 2009 at 11:42 am Leave a comment

I’ve been living with severe fatigue for over six years and had always explained it to people as only having a certain amount of energy for each day. Once I use it up, even if it’s 9am, I’m done for the day. No more energy. My husband really couldn’t seem to grasp the concept. A few months ago, I found this website that did a much better job of explaining it. It’s called The Spoon Theory.

It’s a perfect explanation. If you’re suffering from fatigue or have a friend or family member suffering from it, make sure you read the article. It’s a PDF file so it may take a few seconds to open. Be patient. It’s definitely worth it. I’ve read on forum posts that there are people who carry copies of The Spoon Theory around and hand them out to people.

Fatigue is a real problem. We’re not just lazy.

The Invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Pop-tarts Final Exam

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

