Medical Alert Bracelet?

February 2, 2009 at 1:21 pm 3 comments

I was reading an invisible illness forum yesterday that was talking about wearing medical alert bracelets or other jewelry to notify emergency workers of health problems and medications that you’re taking.

 

It really hit home with how dangerous the methotrexate (MTX) is that I’m taking since that was one of the medications that was mentioned. I had totally spaced that I had read on the drug info pamphlets the pharmacist gave me with my MTX that I needed to carry something with me at all times that says I take that drug. How could I space something that important?!

 

So this morning I worked on getting an updated medication list that I will laminate and put in my wallet in the place where I would normally keep my driver’s license. I’m not ready to start wearing a MedicAlert bracelet yet. It would be a constant reminder of my health problems which I am always trying to forget that I have, and it would bring about questions from strangers about why I’m wearing it. I haven’t even told most of my family and friends about my health problems. Why would I want to tell a total stranger about them?

 

If you don’t already have a medication list in your wallet, why not work on one right now? It could save your life.

 

The Invisible,

S.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

When It Rains It Pours Working Woman

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  February 3, 2009 at 8:32 am

    I understand what you are going through. I have had Crohn’s Disease for 17 years…it’s tough having an invisible disease. Several years ago I started making fashionable medical jewelry because many people, like us, don’t want to wear the standard medical bracelet.If you are feeling adventurous and ever decide to wear a medical bracelet (or necklace), please browse my website at http://www.beadin-beagle.com.

    Best,
    Tina

  • 2. thegirlfromtheghetto  |  February 8, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Have you seen the AP story on Fibromyalgia? I am disgusted. Here it is …

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090208/ap_on_bi_ge/fibromyalgia_drug_companies

    and feel free to read my post on it.

    http://thegirlfromtheghetto.wordpress.com/2009/02/08/fibromyalgia-is-now-a-murky-ailment-i-dont-friggin-think-so/

  • 3. theinvisiblelife  |  February 8, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    It sucks but it’s the same story that’s been going around for awhile. It’s definitely one of those diseases that you don’t understand unless you have it, but I certainly wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy just so they could see what I was going through. I was diagnosed back in 1997 when I was 18, back before anyone had even heard of the disease, let alone me. It’s not like I went into the Dr’s office with an internet print out and said, “I have this disease. Give me drugs.” I was young, tired all the time, in pain, and wanted to know why I was so different from every other 18-year-old. Luckily my Dr. had just recently gone to a seminar on Fibromyalgia and realized what was wrong with me. It didn’t provide me with any pain relief, but sometimes it’s just nice to have a name for what’s wrong with you.

    Thanks for the interesting post.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

