Evil, Evil Me

January 23, 2009 at 11:42 am Leave a comment

I know it’s been awhile since I last posted. I really don’t have an excuse, but I’m going to give one anyway. J

 

I signed up with a temp agency and have been having to call every morning this week by 7:30 am to let them know I’m available for work. I am NOT a morning person and having to “wait by the phone” all day is making me antsy. I still have not gotten any work. Grrrrr.

 

I’ve also been working hard on my MT schoolwork. I’m now working on my final exam. Yippee!! I can hardly believe it. I’m almost done. But I’m also stressed out about it because it seems like the MT job market is really bad right now. Almost no one is hiring newbies right now, and even MTs with a lot of experience are having a hard time getting hired.

 

So anyway, this manifested itself into me not wanting to write.

 

I’m sure you’ll are wondering how my first dose of methotrexate went. It went fine. I felt slightly more nauseated the morning after taking it, but with my IBS I’m so used to feeling nauseated in the morning it was no big deal. I’m very lucky that I almost never have side effects when taking drugs. Now I just need it to work. Remission here I come!

 

My husband was also sick this week and he’s such a baby. Now I’m going to tell you something really bad about myself. I don’t believe my husband has ever really been sick since we’ve been together. I know how horrible it sounds since I’ve been dealing with doctors not believing me for most of my life, but I have my reasons.

 

First, the only symptom he ever has is “I don’t feel good” or “I feel phlegmy.”  That’s it. Never sneezing, coughing, running nose, vomiting, fever, etc. Ever. Not in the whole eight years we’ve been together.

 

Second, he’s a total baby about it. He misses 2-3 days of work when he gets “sick”, and yet he gets pissed off at me when I’m not working full time. He has no idea what it’s like to be expected to function normally when you feel horrible all the time. It’s draining.

 

This round of sickness he told me his tummy didn’t feel good, and he had the nerve to tell me he needed a new stomach. My reply was a snarky, “I get one first.”

 

Now that I’ve told you all that, I really have been trying to be more understanding when he says he’s not feeling good. I try to remind myself that it must be hard for someone who is healthy 24/7 to have a day where they feel a little ‘off’. It must feel like the end of the world to them. Which would explain my husband’s behavior. And I certainly don’t wish for him to know what it’s like to feel like I do all the time; although, I really wish I got to know what it feels like to feel like he does. J

 

The invisible,

S.

Entry filed under: invisible illness, medical transcription. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Seether does another great cover. BSG Geek

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

