The Second Appointment

January 14, 2009 at 12:01 pm Leave a comment

It ended up he was right, on the vitamin D front, not on that it was causing most of my problems. My blood tests came back showing I had <7.0 ng/mL of vitamin D in my blood. According to the doctor, it meant I had so little in my blood that the test couldn’t register it. Essentially, I had none.

 

I’m starting to see a lot about it in the news as they discover that more and more health problems may be associated to low vitamin D levels. It’s becoming a problem with people becoming ‘afraid’ of the sun due to skin cancer. Interesting, huh?

 

So, yes, I had hypovitaminosis D. He put me on a mega-dose of vitamin D, I think it was 50,000 IU, that I was supposed to take twice a week for four weeks and then do more blood work.

 

But, the blood tests also showed that my rheumatoid factor was high. Not crazy high, only 33.4, but still abnormal. None of the other RA tests showed as elevated, so my doctor still thought the hand pain was related to the low vitamin D levels, and wanted to wait until my next appointment before considering RA. My hand x-rays also showed up as normal. Woohoo!

 

But I told him he needed to give me something for the hand pain. It had become unbearable and I was now having stiffness and gelling. I couldn’t wait another month to see how taking the vitamin D would affect it. I begged. I pleaded. He gave in and gave me drugs. A low dose of prednisone for five days.

 

I love you prednisone!

 

It was a miracle. By day two on the prednisone, I felt like a normal person. No hand pain at all, less morning stiffness, and to my surprise, no foot pain. This was when I realized that my foot pain was connected to the hand pain, and after much research, came to realize I just might have rheumatoid arthritis.

 

Next…third appointment.

 

The invisible,

S.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Get Seether a Grammy Award! The Third Appointment

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

