To Continue or Not To Continue…

January 11, 2009 at 2:13 pm Leave a comment

I was about halfway through my medical transcription training when I realized that I really did have rheumatoid arthritis. I was still several months away from being officially diagnosed, but I knew.

 

I spent a few weeks deciding if I wanted to continue my training. It’s a job that requires speed and accuracy when typing. I now had to think about the ‘what ifs’. What if my hands became so bad I couldn’t type anymore? What if I was in too much pain to sit at a desk all day? What if I couldn’t work 40 hours a week?

 

And then I had my answer. I applied those questions to any job I might have and realized that I was much better off dealing with those things while working at home.

 

No co-workers would have to see me hobbling around. If I had to, I could type slowly with two fingers. It might take me all day to do a few reports, but at least I would be working and making some money. If I was a little slow getting started in the morning due to stiffness, I was the only one it was hurting because the pay is all productivity based. And most jobs wouldn’t be as flexible with a schedule as MTing can be.

 

So I continued my schoolwork. And I’m happy I did. I really like it, and I’ve physically improved a lot over that last few months, so I don’t worry so much about the ‘what ifs’. I know I made the right decision.

 

The invisible,

S.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: invisible illness, medical transcription. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Good Advice? Do I have a good ear?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

