When Enough Became Enough

January 8, 2009 at 12:32 pm Leave a comment

When did I know that I needed to go see a doctor? It was about four months into the hand pain, when I knew. I still thought it was tendonitis or maybe my fibromyalgia, and I still thought I’d go to my doctor and he would look at my hands — and poof! — they would magically be fixed.

 

But, at that time I still didn’t have medical insurance so I had to wait another month for that to become active. Then when I called to make an appointment with my GP (he was a new doc at the time), it was another month before I could get into see him since I was a new patient.

 

So six months had passed. My hands were increasingly getting worse. I got to the point it was definitely affecting my everyday life. I started having to do things like starting my car with two hands, and that was still a very painful thing to do.

 

When did I know that something was really wrong with my hands? Not until my new GP mentioned rheumatoid arthritis at my appointment. He did NOT mention tendonitis. I had used WebMD symptom checker before coming to my appointment, and even though RA showed up as the #1 suggestion, I was still in denial at that time. I still thought the doctor was going to magically fix my hands. But then he said those dreaded words, and it started to become a possibility in my head.

 

And in a way, he did magically fix my hands. But that’s another story.

 

The invisible,

S.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

No MT for me. Awkward!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

