No MT for me.

January 7, 2009 at 12:58 pm 3 comments

Well, it’s not quite that bad, but I did get a response back from the woman I met at the New Year’s party. She said her friend was going through a tough time and didn’t want to hire anyone right now. She said maybe in a few months once things settled down and I had finished my schooling.

 

So I have no idea if this will go anywhere. I’m not sure if this is a brush-off or not. I’ll let her know when I finish my MT course and go from there. I really just wanted to get the work to improve my resume anyway.

 

What I’m really wanting is an online employee job with a national medical transcription company so I can get medical insurance. That would be the best thing for me right now. So I’m not going to stress about getting some work from this lady I’ve never met. Besides, stress makes my rheumatoid arthritis worse. Stupid RA! J

 

Since that’s not panning out, and I haven’t heard back from the general transcription companies I applied to yet, I’ll be going down to a temp agency on Monday to apply for jobs with them. I live in a small town so I don’t expect much work, but at least it will be a little income coming in and my husband will stop stressing. It was nice getting 2 ½ months off to work full-time on my MT training, so I can’t complain.

 

I’m doing my training through a company called At-Home Professions. I chose them because they do a monthly payment schedule to pay off your tuition of only $55/month. It was affordable for me. They have been really great about everything. Any time I’ve had to call them, they’re really cheerful on the phone and very helpful. On the down side, I keep reading about how if you don’t go to the three big MT schools you’ll never get a job. So I’m really worried about that.

 

I’ve been doing a lot of research outside of my schooling on how to be a better MT, so hopefully that will help me. And I’ll just have to ace the applications tests. If I’m able to get a job after a reasonable amount of time, I would definitely recommend At-Home Professions to anyone. In fact, I have two friends who are waiting to see how I do, before they make their decision. I’ll let everyone know my final conclusion of At-Home Professions in the next few months.

 

The invisible,

S.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: medical transcription. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Seether!!! When Enough Became Enough

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fingers4hire  |  January 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Don’t be discouraged about the job not working out, it happens to the best of us. I’ll give you a good lead for an entry level job. It’s listed on my blog, it’s called Mountain West Processing. They have all kinds of work and they were looking for entry level transcriptionists earlier in the week, I believe. It may be worth checking out.

    Good luck!

  • 2. theinvisiblelife  |  January 9, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Thanks for being my first comment! Mountain West Processing is one of the places I applied to so it’s great to hear they’re hiring entry level transcriptionists right now. Hopefully I’ll hear something from them soon.

  • 3. hopeful  |  November 14, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Saw your message about being a student of At Home Professions. I was wondering how your job searce ended. Good I hope. I went to a siminar for their course and am trying to decide if it is the right thing to do. I have had several people tell me that unless it is an accredited school and you can test to be certified( which at home says they do) that it is a waste of time. Would love to hear if you have had good success.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

