Happy New Year! Part 2

January 2, 2009 at 12:37 pm Leave a comment

How do I survive social events when I have social anxiety disorder?

 

The first thing I do is try to connect myself to my husband. He’s a people person, so I can just blend into the background while the group is talking. It also makes it look like I’m already a part of a conversation, so no one else will come up to me. The occasional nod keeps me a part of the discussion.

 

If my husband is not available, I try to find a place to stand-preferably a corner- that is near other people, but not so close that they feel like they have to talk to me. The best places are the ones close to something going on. For example, at the New Year’s Eve party, it was a pool game that other people were watching. I stared intensely at the game and never made eye contact with anyone around me. I try to give off ‘leave me alone’ vibes while still looking like I’m having a great time. Being in the area of a lot of other people, rather than off sitting by yourself, keeps you from looking like you’re rude and not enjoying the party.

 

Nevertheless, even doing all this, there are still people who see me ‘by myself’ and think that I must be lonely. And what do they think lonely people need? Why someone to talk to, of course. They will leave a perfectly good conversation with someone else to talk to ME. Is this the it’s-greener-on-the-other-side-of-the-fence way of thinking?

 

It’s very uncomfortable for me to talk to someone I don’t know, so to all you extroverted people out there, just because you see someone by themselves at a party, does not mean we want you to come keep us company. If I wanted to be talking to someone, I would find someone to talk to. It’s really simple. See, you just did it. I can do it too.

 

Now, to get serious. I’ve done everything I can to give off ‘keep away’ vibes. What still makes you want to come over and talk to me? Seriously, I’m not that interesting. If anyone reading this is one of those extroverts, please leave me a comment. I would like to improve on my ‘I’m okay, leave me alone’ vibes while I’m at parties.

 

If your one of my fellow introverts, please leave me a comment letting me know how you survive parties and other social events.

 

Part 3 will be coming tomorrow.

 

The invisible,

S.

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: invisible illness. Tags: , , , .

Happy New Year! Part 1 Happy New Year! Part 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About S.

I’m a 30-year-old living with multiple invisible illnesses. Rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism are just a few. I’m also studying to be a Medical Transcriptionist. If you get offended by anything I write, please remember I'm probably joking. I have a weird sense of humor. Leave me a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

Recent Posts

Archives

wordpress stat

